The Starship and the Canoe Epub Æ Starship and the

The Starship and the Canoe Epub Æ Starship and the

The Starship and the Canoe [EPUB] ✸ The Starship and the Canoe Author Kenneth Brower – Larringtonlifecoaching.co.uk The story of a father and son who search for life's meaning in very different ways In the tradition of Carl Sagan and John McPhee a bracing cerebral voyage past intergalactic hoopla and backwoods retr The story of a father and son who and the eBook ☆ search for life's meaning in very different ways In the tradition of Carl Sagan and John McPhee a bracing cerebral voyage past intergalactic hoopla and backwoods retreats Kirkus Reviews In the tradition of Carl Sagan and John McPhee a bracing cerebral voyage past intergalactic hoopla and backwoods retreats Kirkus Reviews An unusual and often moving double biographyIn their individual ways the Dysons embody the extremes of twentieth century life science and technology and the revolt against them The New YorkerA compelling and The Starship PDF \ evocative biography of father and sona highly moving allegory on the compelling ideologies of our timesAside from any deeper meanings one could extract from this book it is a lot of fun San Francisco Chronicle.


10 thoughts on “The Starship and the Canoe

  1. Ralph Ralph says:

    Freeman Dyson wants to build a starship to take him into the cosmos atop a column of atomic fire His son George wants to build an ocean going canoe While his father dwells in an Ivory Tower George lives in a tree house One an accomplished mathematician who lectures at universities worldwide the other a high school drop out who's done jail time for drugs On the surface father and son could not seem different but in this part biography part travelogue Kenneth Brower shows how very similar they are and how even in their differences they are uite similar Through their own words Brower shows how even though one looks to the far future of humanity while the other looks to humanity's beginnings they are in actuality both looking at man's destiny This book is a remarkable fusion of biography travel history science and social commentary It is a must readNOTE This book is the third book read as part of the 2013 Dust Off Your Classics Reading Challenge


  2. Trina Trina says:

    I read this way back when it was first published 1978 What do you do when you're overshadowed by a famous father? George Dyson retreats to the wilderness while intellectual Freeman Dyson grapples with the cosmos They're estranged yet share an affinity for remote travel whether in a canoe or a starship


  3. Andy Andy says:

    I found this book at a used book store some time ago in ArcataWell let me rephrase that; my girlfriend found it My girlfriend being Ken Brower's niece while the title cover and description of the book caught my interest it was an immediate buy Though I later learned I could just pull one of a handful of copies from Ken's shelf at a later timeI did't read this for almost two years after that purchase I had seen various references to Freeman and George Dyson had heard my girlfriend's mother talk about her friendship with George had seen George give a speech at a TED conferenceall things that made me want to dive right in but I didn'tPerhaps part of me was scared Scared to finally know a real writer I have developed a fairly close relationship with Ken Brower over the years what if I somehow disliked this book?Then I read it I didn't dislike it You can see the stars above this review I loved itIt's not a perfect book for me I'd be hard pressed to note non fiction and biographical works as such But when the book is good it's really goodYou see knowing Ken it allows me to put a voice to the text He's a very personable individual Therefore in describing the emotional tension between father and son he succeeds In describing his outrageous adventures tagging along with George he succeeds In conversing with Freeman Dyson over multiple hamburger and coke meals you feel like you're in the restaurant with them But there are slow sections that rear their head around the middle when the writing becomes a bit technical the history recalling that of indigenous peoples rather than the ever engaging Dyson's It should be noted that I read the first 13 of the book in a couple of days The last 13 in a couple of days and the middle 13 over the course of 2 3 weeks And it's not that it's bad looking back now it is just that I had that fear again Oh no I'm not loving this sectionthis could turn out poorly and thus I plodded through slowly But the fact is those sections are important in the grand scheme of things Perhaps as a second read knowing where the story of these two individuals starts and ends I would see these sections as key background information in investigating the Dyson's on my own I'm sure I'll do it again somedayRarely can works of non fiction or biographies breathe with the life of their similarly themed fictional accounts The Starship and the Canoe does than breathe life though it breathes two Good work Ken


  4. Adam Adam says:

    Don't be dissuaded by the sci fi cover it's not sci fi I'm not sure how it's classified which is part of why it's compelling Much of it is written from a biography perspective with the author following a man preoccupied with building kayaks and following his father a prominent nuclear physicist They are both dreamers of engineering capabilities and of civilizations The son is rooted in the past while the father looks only ahead Aside from being about the father son relationship The Starship and Canoe is about the world we came from the world we are creating and the many ways to live in our present construction


  5. Stephen Yoder Stephen Yoder says:

    I got a bit bored with George roaming around seemingly aimlessly in the Pacific Northwest and Dyson from my perspective not coming up with any concrete impact upon the space program but eventually I realized I didn't like the ualities in this father and son that I readily recognize in myself The wandering of body mind and spirit the restlessness that ends up producing only so much that others can even grok yes If only I were as truly productive as either Freeman The ending spoke to me as an odd father We release our children to the world they follow their own paths and sometimes just sometimes we might even understand them


  6. Nina Nina says:

    I really enjoyed this short read The author's use of descriptive language to paint a picture of both the main character as well as the places he visits on his adventure left me with a longing to spend some time in the Alaskan wilderness well away from the 'grizzly' of course


  7. Doug Wells Doug Wells says:

    Wonderful book about the intersection of science and non science Father and son one a world renowned nuclear scientist who helped created the A bomb the other striving to understand the world the the creation of a birch bark canoe


  8. Sarah Sarah says:

    I've read this book twice and it captivated me both times It's informative and beautifully written


  9. Emily Emily says:

    Inspired me to learn how to sea kayak


  10. Velma Velma says:

    I read this when I was big into sea kayaking mid '80s and between Brower's powerful prose and the extra ordinary life of Dyson it was a hit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *